Standing Still

Some days when I go out for a walk I need it to be all about the walking, feeling my legs move, feeling the air in my lungs, feeling the air on my face.  Some days, the walking still feels good but the real point of it is the moment when I stop, stand still, take in the view and become aware of everything around me. Then I listen to the sounds, sniff the air, touch the trunk of a tree or the stone of a wall. This is what I did today, and even though the walk started out as nothing in particular, when I stopped and stood for a while my mind slowed down and stopped as well. I took long, slow breaths of air and felt the last of the winter afternoon sun on my face.  At moments like this time seems to stand still and I could stay there becoming part of the landscape, doing nothing at all.

“I only went out for a walk and finally concluded to stay out till sundown, for going out, I found, was really going in.” John Muir

Leave a Reply

