Writing Slowly

image

I love writing fast, on a keyboard. It’s a good feeling, to be able to type at the same speed as I would speak. It helps me to get thoughts out of the tangle of my head and down on a page. But I also love writing by hand, and I do this when I want to write slowly, to choose and savour the words and watch them quietly establish themselves on the paper and take on a life of their own.

I love reading what others have written, especially when the words make my heart sing. Words that can take me out of time and space, shoot me up into the stratosphere of my mind and into another way of being.

These are the kind of words that when I come back down to earth, I like to write slowly. Words that I know will help me find my way back. These words I write by hand.

4 thoughts on “Writing Slowly

  1. In my writer’s group the other night we talked about who writes on a computer and who writes longhand. I noted that I usually write on a computer, except when I am blocked, or I really need some time to concentrate and get my thoughts together–then I am likely to take a pad of paper and a pen and seek out a quiet spot. They really are different experiences, and I fear many people will never understand that, or experience them both.

    1. I sometimes wonder if writing by hand is dying out, and if those of us who like to write this way do so because that’s the only way we wrote when we were at school. Though I notice here and there that there are people much younger than me who enjoy it and feel it’s important to them. And I know a lot of writers are addicted to special pens and certain kinds of notebooks, as I am!

  2. My computer is being recalcitrant about authorizing me to “like” this, which I take as a sign I should write something more, even if on a keyboard.:) You have brought back many thoughts with this post–I think that something written not only from the heart but in one’s hand carries the imprint of it’s author the same distinctive way the spoken voice does. I can look at my late grandmother’s careful, even cursive or one of my son’s tiny script and feel their personalities in a way I never could just from the typeset word. Thank you!

    1. My computer does that sometimes too – I’m so glad in this case it prompted you to write, and very glad to have your thoughts! I too have treasured scraps of my grandmother’s handwriting, and they bring her back to me more powerfully than any photo could. It’s as you say – the words have so much more embedded in them. Long live the handwritten word. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

