In Praise of Praise

image

When I go out walking with my camera, not knowing what I’ll encounter and what will make me suddenly stop still and just stand there gazing, I’m not consciously doing anything at all. I go out with an open mind and feeling as empty as I can, because it feels so good. It feels like untying myself and letting go. I wander about, trying to be nowhere other than where I am, feeling the breeze, sniffing the air, listening to small sounds close by and faint sounds further away, and all the time looking, looking, looking. And when I do stop, because something has made me, when finally after several minutes I take out my camera, taking a picture seems more like a kind of celebration. More like saying thank you for being here right now, for being everything that you are…..

I don’t think we celebrate enough. We don’t praise enough, and we should – we should show our appreciation spontaneously, generously, willingly, to others and to ourselves and not hold back or grudgingly offer a word of acknowledgment now and then. A small thing, but it makes such a difference.

4 thoughts on “In Praise of Praise

    1. So true. But sadly a lot of people seem to find that it’s not easy at all, and this is such a shame. Perhaps it’s a reluctance that comes from fearing that in giving like this, you are going to lose something and be diminished by it, whereas actually I think it’s the opposite, and in fact you gain – so both sides are winners. As you say, it’s a win, win thing!

  1. “One person gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous person will prosper; whoever refreshes others will be refreshed. Proverbs 11:24-25

    Praise is not a small thing; it can make the difference between giving up or going on. These verses from Proverbs came through simultaneously with the Invisible Horse email and I love the complimentary messages -especially as it’s something I’ve been mulling over for a few weeks.

    The Morning Glories photo is stunning by the way!

Leave a Reply

