Small Moments, Shared

image
There have been many times in the past week when I have found myself suspended in time, extraordinarily calm for a few moments as if in the eye of the storm – the absolute stillness of the centre where everything is at peace.

I wish I could say that I had found this through seeking it and had discovered the secret to unlocking this gateway to stillness, so I could pass through it again and again at will and whenever I most need it, but I know this is not the case.

image
What I do know is that these moments have come unexpectedly but not exactly unasked for, although I may not always have been aware that I was asking, and many of them have been moments shared.

image
I’ve noticed before that this can happen at times of trouble. I sense things differently. Perhaps I’m more open, at a deeper level, to an awareness of things I would otherwise miss. Perhaps I am simply letting go and trusting more. I don’t know.

image
My mother is fond of saying that angels come in many different forms. I think I agree with her; it’s not too far fetched to say that recently, angels seem to have made an effort to share small moments with me and in the form of small creatures. Well, who’s to say angels can’t be in the form of a bumblebee, a neighbour’s cat, or an insect so small I don’t even recognise it, so small a raindrop would have engulfed it, small enough to hide from the rain under the shelter of a rose petal?
It truly is the small things in life that matter, and the small moments – especially when they’re moments shared.

4 thoughts on “Small Moments, Shared

    1. Too right – though the thing is, I only wish I was better at putting this into practice! But the really reassuring, and amazing thing is that sometimes when I need it most, it seems to happen of its own accord, and simply by grace. I can see you understand!

Leave a Reply

