Exploring New Worlds

image

I have been climbing
through canyons
of light; basking
on the round smoothness
of golden silk-soft slopes;
diving headlong
down deep
into dark crevasses,
finding secrets.
I have been
lying cradled
in the curl of an edge
suspended
in space;
sheltered,
concealed.
I’ve been drenched
by dew drops
the size of dinner-plates,
then warmed
by sunlight
filtered through
gossamer canopies
of pale gold,
and all the time
breathing it in,
drinking deep,
held captive by wonder.

image

Postscript:
I said in my last post Suddenly, New Worlds that I thought I would be discovering images that needed no words. And I have been. But all of a sudden I found I couldn’t help trying to write about what it feels like to dive into these pictures and get lost in places I’ve never seen in quite this way before. I never stop being amazed by how the ordinary, the everyday – or what we mistakenly think of as ordinary and everyday – can turn in the blink of an eye into something completely different, extraordinary, and magical.

4 thoughts on “Exploring New Worlds

  1. Have just discovered your blog via the Freshly Pressed and have enjoyed browsing your posts, so many interesting thoughts and reflections. This one is beautiful, so totally present. I felt so close I could almost smell that rose! I look forward to be following.

Leave a Reply

