Staying In While Going Out

Sometimes I just want to find a place to hide.

I want to creep under cover, draw in, find shelter. I want to feel safe, breathe deeply, go to sleep. I want to be at home.

wpid-20140708_114250-1-1-1.jpg

Other days I want to climb right up to the edge, to the top, to explore and look over the horizon to a whole new piece of the world. I want adventure.

wpid-20140708_114250-1-2-1-1.jpg

And then there are days when I find myself at home even while I’m out exploring. Times when I feel at peace and at ease with myself, when my body moves without pain and my mind is clear. When moving is what my body wants to do and my mind is in complete agreement.

image

These times are few, but when it happens I rejoice in it and know that it’s the best thing in the world, the way things are meant to be.

“I only went out for a walk and finally concluded to stay out till sundown, for going out, I found, was really going in.”

John Muir

12 thoughts on “Staying In While Going Out

    1. You’re too kind, Susan! I don’t think any of my photos are actually all that good technically (most of them are taken with my phone camera) but I do take a long time finding a shot, and even longer sometimes cropping and selecting. And then curating. It’s something I love doing. Thanks for your response!

  1. Your photos are thought-provoking. At first, I thought they were rumpled sheets, then saw the flower, then realized the rumpled sheet metaphor was appropriate as well.

    1. Oh I do love to provoke thought! That’s such a compliment. You’ve made me think, too – about rumpled sheets – and I really like that too. Thanks!

    1. I’m so glad, Cate. I think many of us take photographs for all kinds of reasons, not least because of the metaphors they present us with, and just occasionally it all seems to come together and make sense. I see the same quality often in your pictures. I’m so glad to be able to share it with you!

  2. ‘And then there are days when I find myself at home even while I’m out exploring.’ Yes! This is a feeling I seek to understand. How to achieve that feeling of being so at one with the world.

    1. Elusive, isn’t it! But then again I think we’re fortunate even to know the feeling exists and to recognise it. Just doing that somehow makes it feel a bit more acheivable.

  3. The way you use the photos intrigues me, the combination of words and images invites me to pause for a while, and just contemplate. Our life captured in one flower, that’s amazing! I wish you many, many moments of being home while outside. This post will stay in my mind for a while, I know it.

    1. Thanks for your kind wishes! I’m happy to have given you a few moments to pause and contemplate, and it’s lovely to know this meant something to you. I really appreciate your kind words.

Leave a comment