New Pen

image

I have a new pen.

It may seem strange but my sense of wellbeing is closely related to the state of whatever I’m writing and drawing with – if my current pen is free flowing and responsive and doesn’t clog up or leak or go scratchy and dry, I feel relaxed, confident, and ready to tackle anything (well, almost). If it’s not performing then I can’t either; I get irritable and can’t concentrate, and not just when I’m trying to use the pen – it’s been known to keep me awake at night.

This is a Lamy Safari Vista (what a nice name – it immediately makes me think of going places) and I bought it for drawing, but as always the first thing I do to test out a pen is to write as fast as possible without thinking and cover a whole page. It’s a good way to test drive a pen.

It’s a good way to test out my sense of wellbeing too, and see if I can make any adjustments – it’s amazing what a bit of fast I-don’t- know-what-I’m-writing-I’m-just-going-to-write-it can reveal.

There are things you can do to make a pen work better; you can change the ink, clean the nib and if all else fails, get a new pen.

There are things I can do to get myself more free-flowing and responsive too. Thankfully, change is always an option.

Weekly Photo Challenge

7 thoughts on “New Pen

  1. I once had a poet and painter come to read his work at the library. He was a local man, now deceased, who was about 90 at the time. In a quiet moment before the reading I asked him how did the two disciplines compare (his paintings are marvelous, and sell for many thousands of dollars, and he has published several volumes of poetry.) He said that when he is going to paint he spends a few minutes daubing paint on the canvas, playing with colors and brush strokes, and when he is going to write he scribbles words at random on the page, hoping thoughts will come to mind. You reminded me of this with your filling a whole page as fast as possible without thinking.

    1. Fascinating. I love hearing about approaches to work, and process. There are many areas of overlap in writing and drawing, and many transferable skills. I read Natalie Goldberg’s Writing Down The Bones for the first time last summer and kept finding it so applicable to drawing as well as writing – and exciting to have so many of the things I do confirmed, but also to discover new ideas as well. There’s always something new!

  2. A pen is always important and for someone like yourself, both an artist and writer, doubly important. I liked seeing a full posting devoted to your pen. Now I know I’m not alone in this sort of thing. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

