Extract of Autumn

image

It starts with blue. Autumn skies are different from the skies of summer or spring. This is the first ingredient. Then, copper, rust, terracotta, amber and gold, streaked with green – the green of glass bottles, the turquoise of the shallow sea, and the deep blue green of the ocean.

image

I start to see these colours when I close my eyes and sometimes dream of them. They feel like perfume, or wine, or freshly ground coffee, or chocolate; I swear I’m absorbing them just by gazing at them. I’m drinking them in.

It’s not enough just to think of them, so I get out my palette and let two colours loose on the page. Phthalo Turquoise and Burnt Sienna spread themselves in brilliant glory and then collide, a confluence of energy swirling and merging, creating currents of soft new colours without names. I’ve stopped thinking; I think I’ve forgotten how to speak. I’m lost in colour.

image

image

image

image

What does colour mean to you?

2 thoughts on “Extract of Autumn

  1. You write as beautifully as you paint: “I get out my palette and let two colours loose on the page. Phthalo Turquoise and Burnt Sienna spread themselves in brilliant glory and then collide, a confluence of energy swirling and merging, creating currents of soft new colours without names.” When I read this and looked at your colors on the page, I felt as if there was a poem in there somewhere. I’ll wait quietly on the side waiting for it to emerge. Keep painting, my friend, keeping observing in your eloquent way.

    1. What a lovely thing to say! Such kind words – and I’m so happy that this struck a chord. And if it could be that a poem might emerge out of this – oh! that would be more exciting than watching the paint (and I know you’ll appreciate what I mean). Please do let me know if something happens. …..

Leave a Reply

