Transition

image

It’s almost exactly 4 years since I started writing these posts, and in that time of tramping about outside, watching the seasons and recording what I see and feel and think about, there has been change – a transition.

I remember saying that I try to look closely at something every day, and that although it would be better to draw it, it’s more likely that I’d take photographs. Well, somewhere along the way, drawing has moved back centre-stage; I’m now far more likely to whip out my sketchbook rather than my camera, and the difference (to me, anyway) has been remarkable, and in some ways quite unexpected.

image

It’s not that I don’t still love taking photographs – I do – but sketching has unlocked something that has nothing to do with photography, or with words, and opened up a world of possibilities. Since I can scribble a very high speed sketch almost as quickly as I could get out my camera and shoot, I now know that I can respond to a place or a person or whatever catches my eye with my whole attention, and discover how I really see it and feel about it. It makes a connection that is hard to imagine happening any other way.
image

I joined the worldwide community of Urban Sketchers about a year ago, and this really put wind in my sails; it’s wonderful to be able to share and enjoy looking at what other sketchers are doing all over the world, and I’ve been stretching and honing my rusty drawing skills and learning more every day. I’ve discovered the adventure of going out with a sketchbook is quite different from appearing in public with a camera; people are friendly and interested, they mostly smile and talk, and in some cases people have told me they are simply delighted to see someone drawing. (I have to say I don’t know why this is and I find it rather baffling, but I don’t question it!)

Change is a constant thing, and I realise that to be able to move willingly and happily from one thing to the next is to be happy. It’s a continual state of transition – something I’m beginning to understand, and something that, now and again, I’m beginning to be able to acheive…..

9 thoughts on “Transition

  1. Lovely thoughts… thank you for this post! I believe with a camera people know it’s just a click and the owner walks away with the image. To observe someone drawing pulls them into the emerging image – the creative dance of each stroke. It’s a joy and a privilege to be included!

    1. I think you’ve got it exactly – thanks for a wonderful explanation! That is just what it feels like (and if anyone could put such a thing into words it would be you.) 🙂

  2. The ubiquity of cameras in everyone’s hands has destroyed any mystique photography once held. I have so much enjoyed your drawings over the past few years, as well as your thoughts on the process of observing.

    1. Thank you, Tom! Kind words – and it means such a lot to me to know you’ve enjoyed my posts and my drawings. I’ve loved reading every one of your posts and always look forward to them. So good to hear from you as always.

Leave a Reply

