Vibrant Memories

image

I’ve collected threads and fabrics for as long as I can remember. All of them were bought with the intention of using them in one way or another and most of them were, so that only off-cuts and scraps and half-used spools remain but they have such a beauty of their own I can’t bring myself to throw them out. (I even have lengths of silk bought 40 years ago when I worked for a while in Liberty’s, in the fabric department, that I never cut; instead every so often I get these yards of sheer delight out of their tissue paper wrappings and unfold them just for the simple pleasure of holding them in my hands.)

But these Indian rayon threads and sari fabrics I did use for embroidery 30 years ago, and bits of them still lie lovingly tucked away in a drawer and assail me with a sudden burst of colour and a rush of memories whenever I’m rummaging for something and  unearth them unexpectedly.

image

image

image

Somehow I know that I’ll never be able to part with them. They’re too beautiful, too vibrant and still full of unrealised possibilities – they still have a quiet life of their own. I enjoy meeting up with them whenever we encounter each other – and surely this is a good enough reason to let them stay?

Time to wrap them up and put them carefully away in their drawer……

11 thoughts on “Vibrant Memories

    1. Thanks Cate! I was overjoyed to find a photo challenge for something so colourful and joyful this week because everything here is so unutterably dark and grey at the moment. So I had a lovely time burrowing in drawers and cupboards to find these. Glad you liked them!

  1. This reminded me of a childhood memory I had forgotten. Our family friends had a Pakistani father and American mother. Her mother had a closet full of salwar kameez we used to dig through, drunk with the colors. Thanks for reminding me.

  2. I know you’ve been posting more sketches lately, but your photos are still stunning. Glad you’re keeping these beautiful things: I think we can get carried away by getting rid of stuff. We should hold on to items that still bring us joy.

    1. That’s what’s said, isn’t it – keep the things that bring you joy – and it makes perfect sense. Why would you ever want to throw away happiness? ! Thanks – and I’m glad you liked these. They were glorious things to photograph on a dull winter’s day and in all honesty a drawing couldn’t have done them justice. 🙂

  3. I agree with Pamela too… we simply have to keep things that delight us if possible . There are enough things that don’t touch us when we dig them out of a dark cupboard corner so we better get rid of this ones 🙂

    1. I couldn’t agree more. I try hard not to bury things I don’t need at the back of cupboards but too many times I’ve thrown something away only to find the very next day that it was just the thing I needed. Aaaagh! So I stuff things away saying to myself I’m storing them for when they’re needed, and often they’re not things that are going to bring me joy but only confusion at why I’ve kept them and annoyance at cluttering up my life. With these lovely fabrics and threads though there’s no need for me to struggle with a decision – I’m definitely never going to part with them. They’re not clutter!

Leave a Reply

